LIBRARY HOURS:  MON-THU 10-9pm FRI 10-5pm SAT 9-5pm SUN 1-5pm | Closures | 216-261-5300
Find books, music, and movies!
ClevNet Logo

Mount Rushmore

One important landmark in the United States is Mt. Rushmore, which is located in the Black Hills of South Dakota.  The mountain was named after New York City attorney Charles E. Rushmore in 1884-1885.  Mt. Rushmore holds a sculpture that contains the busts of four presidents; George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln, and Theodore Roosevelt.  The mountain is 5,725 feet high.

The work on the sculpture began in 1927 and was completed in 1941.  This sculpture is a part of a mountain that is 5,725 feet high.   George Washington’s face is 60 feet tall, his nose is 20 feet long, and the slits of his eyes are 11 feet wide.  There was 1.5 million tons of granite rock was blasted from the mountain to create this sculpture.  Today, there is a huge pile of that rock still lies at the base of the mountain.

Another name for this landmark is called the “Shrine of Democracy”.  When visitors go to see this landmark, they will also observe the Avenue of Flags of the 50 states and 6 territories of the United States.  This monument symbolizes the ideals of freedom and democracy.

Did You Know?

  • Mt. Rushmore is the world’s largest sculpture, costing $989,992.32 to complete
  • The sculpture was designed by Gutzon de la mothe Borglum
  • The Keystone boys worked 14 years to complete Mt. Rushmore
  • President George Bush officially dedicated Mt. Rushmore in 1991

Check These Out!

Tickle Your Brain