The Cleveland Indians

Chief Wahoo with Cleveland Indians

The Cleveland Indians are a major league baseball team that plays in the Central Division of the American League. The Indians play their home games in Progressive Field in Cleveland.

The team was first called the Blues, then the Bronchos and the Naps, after its star second baseman Napoleon Lajoie. In 1915, the team was renamed the Indians in honor of Louis Francis Sockalexis, the first Native American to play professional baseball. Cleveland won its first pennant in 1920, led by center fielder and manager Tris Speaker.

The Indians did not win another pennant until 1948. The stars of that team were shortstop and manager Lou Boudreau, pitcher Bob Feller, and outfielder Larry Doby. In 1947, Doby had become the first African American player in the American League. The 1954 Indians won the pennant with a league record 111 victories.

Cleveland went more than 40 years before winning their next pennant, in 1995. The team won pennants again in 1997 and 2016.

In September of 2017, the Cleveland Indians earned an American League record for completing the longest winning streak of 22 games!

Photo of Cleveland Indian fans, holding a banner that says, "You Gotta Believe"
Did You Know?

It has been so long since the Indians won the World Series that the pitcher who closed their last championship was a World War II veteran who survived a torpedo attack in the South Pacific.
From 1995 til 2001, tickets to Indians home games at Jacobs Field were sold out for a consecutive 455 times in a row. This record was held proudly until 2008, when it was surpassed by the Boston Red Sox who would go on to record an even more astonishing feat with a 794 sell out streak that wouldn’t end until 2013.
At some point the 2017 winning streak was going to end, and it happened to end Friday night, during a Trevor Bauer start. It was the second time Bauer started and lost the 23rd game to end a 22-game winning streak. He did it in college too.